Recipe Review // Ruby Red Trout with Fingerling Potatoes

on

“Honestly, if I got this in a restaurant for $12, I would order it again and again and again. If you are looking for a fish recipe, this one won’t fail you.”

Two weeks ago, I got a free Plated box from my friend Christine and I made three | different | recipes with varying success. Some were great, some were less great… And I wasn’t convinced that I was going to do it ever again.

…until Foots left town for a whole week and I didn’t have a way to get to the grocery store. (Car-less millennial problems, amiright?) So I thought I would get the same package as before (3 meals a week x 2 portions of meals = $72 for the whole week, $12 per meal). Definitely not cheap – and definitely more expensive than groceries. But I thought it might help me actually cook nice meals for myself instead of just eating Eggo waffles and Instant Ramen every night.

But this time, I didn’t trust them. I’ve learned not to trust them. So this time I made the recipes with my additions as I was making the recipe – not writing them down as afterthoughts.

And the first recipe I tackled was was Ruby Red Trout with Creamy Dill Sauce, Sautéed Chard, and Roasted Fingerling Potatoes. 

FullSizeRender

Recipe Review // Ruby Red Trout with Roasted Fingerling Potatoes from Plated

Warning: I found this recipe and tried it – and this is my experience. This recipe has been adapted, paraphrased, and annotated by me. All credit goes to the original owner. 

Makes: 2 portions of trout and accompanying veggies
Time: about 30 minutes
Survives: overnight in fridge

// Experience

1 // Rock that mise en place
– Preheat oven to 450° degrees.
– Slice up one bunch of swiss chard into ribbons and chunks – removing the stems (and keeping them separate from each other), set aside
– Cut 12 ounces of fingerling potatoes lengthwise, set aside
– Gentle crush 2 garlic cloves, chop 3 cloves of garlic up finely

2 // Potato, Po-ta-to
– Grab a full-sized baking sheet
– Toss the potatoes with 1 tablespoon of olive oil, a liberal amount of salt, and a sneeze of pepper
Lay down a layer of baking foil, then add the potatoes – cut side down
– Once the oven is preheated, roast until crisp and starting to brown around edges – about 15 to 20 minutes (depending on how big your fingerlings are)

3 // Get Saucy
– In a medium bowl, combine 3 teaspoons of mayonnaise, 2 tbsp of dijon mustard, the juice of the whole lemon and the zest of the half of the lemon. Add two pinches of salt.
Combine well.
– Taste it. If you can’t taste the lemon strongly, add the zest of the second half of the lemon. // I LOVED it with the second half of the lemon zest, but I really like lemony fish.
– Combine well and set in fridge until needed.

4 // Get fishy
– Get 2 fillets of ruby trout. Take off a paper towel, and pat the trout dry until it’s no longer slippery.
– Season with a two pinches of salt each side and a sneeze of pepper.
– Heat a dollop of olive oil into a medium NON-STICK pan over medium-high heat. Using a folded paper towel, use one edge to gently smear the oil in an even layer over the pan. Make sure there is still a good amount of oil in the pan. // Basically, one edge gets saturated in the oil and stops picking up extra oil and just helps evenly get the whole pan coated.
– Once the oil is shimmering and hot, place one piece of the trout skin-side-down. Grab a large spatula and press down on the fish, making sure that the whole of the skin stays in contact with the cooking surface. This ensures a crispy skin. After 1 to 2 minutes, the fish will maintain its shape. Repeat with fillet two. Cook for additional 3 minutes on skin side, then flip and sear for 3 more minutes. The fish should reach an internal temperature 145°F. Place on plate skin-side-up.

5 // Don’t let it get chard-to-a-crisp
– While the trout is cooking, get a second pan (medium) and heat a dollop of olive oil over medium heat.
– Once oil is hot, add the chopped garlic and the JUST chard stems. Wait for the leaves.
Sauté, stirring gently, until the garlic has toasted and the stems get soft – about 3 minutes.
– Add the chard leaves and a pinch of salt and sauté while stirring for another 3 minutes – or until the chard has wilted.
– Remove the garlic. Never remove the garlic, you monster.

6 // Bon appetit
– Place the roasted potatoes down on a plate. Add chard on top of it.
– Add a piece of trout and spoon a generous amount of creamy dill sauce over the fish.
– Enjoy!

Eating Now // Serve immediately. 

Eating Later // Heat the fish in the same manner that you cooked it. (Oil down, get it hot, put the skin-side-down, hold it with the spatula.) Only cook it about 1-2 minutes on each side or until warm. You don’t want it to start cooking again. Beside the trout, heat up the potatoes and the chard together, stirring occasionally to get heat even. 

Scorecard // If I got this for $12 in a restaurant, it would be the only thing I ordered

EASE TO MAKE ★★★★☆ – There isn’t much technical skill involved – the worst part is making sure you don’t overcook the fish. I did take off a point just because – when working with raw fish – there is a lot of “in between washing” you have to do to make sure that you don’t get contaminated.

TIME TO MAKE ★★★★★ – Pretty short! 30 minutes for a romantic seafood dinner for two (or maybe a romantic dinner for one… and romantic lunch the next day) – can’t go wrong!

LEFTOVER-ABILITY ★★★★☆ – I had this for dinner one night and lunch the next day. The trout actually held together really well. The potatoes heat through alright. The only problem is I would really only give this a day. But you’ll want to eat by then anyways because it’s so tasty!

TASTINESS ★★★★★ – I LOVED this. This is my favorite recipe from Plated yet. Honestly, if I got this in a restaurant for $12, I would order it again and again and again. The zestiness of the lemon. The garlicy-ness of the chard. The crispyness of the skin. The carbs of the potato! A winner all around!

REDO-ABILITY ★★★★☆ – Honestly, I love this recipe. I love the flavor. The ease. Everything. But I’m a little worried about getting quality trout out where I am (the middle of nowhere). But if I find trout, I will definitely be doing this.

FINAL JUDGEMENT ★★★★★

I couldn’t stop raving about this recipe. I was obsessed with it. And Foots was out of town so I got to enjoy BOTH pieces of it myself. The flavor is great. The ease is superb. The technique is simple. And it reheats well. If you are looking for a fish recipe, this one won’t fail you.

What do you think? Do you like mine better or theirs?
Do you have a recipe for this that you use all the time?
Let me know! In the Contact Tab!

Leave a Reply

